Learning to live with a wig

It took a few weeks but I am now completely at ease wearing my wig. No more near panic attacks before I leave the house, or the need to take a few deep breaths before I enter whatever company I’ve arranged to meet.

Living with a wig, however, does have its challenges. Here are a few of them.

  • Scratching your wig where your scalp itches is very much not the same as scratching your scalp where your scalp itches. You quickly realise that all you’ve done is scratch your wig. And in public, you can’t just stick a finger under your wig and give your scalp a good scratch.
  • Jumpers/pullovers, overhead fleeces and hoodies. You can’t wear any piece of clothing that you put on over your head if there’s even a remote chance you might want to take it off in public… in case the wig dislodges or comes off with it. You’d be surprised how much of my wardrobe is made of garments like that, and how much you use them at this time of year.
  • Cycling. “Helmet hair” is bad enough with real hair, but at least it springs back into shape sooner or later. But what about when you’re wearing a synthetic wig? “Helmet wig” sounds like something to be avoided at all costs. What if the wig never recovers? I’ll have to work on that one. I’ve been on my bike a few times wearing the wig but no helmet. At least the wig doesn’t fly off, but riding without a helmet just doesn’t feel right to someone who until now has religiously worn a helmet every time she got on her bike. And it would be beyond irony to get a head injury now as a result of not wearing a helmet.
  • sorry-no-can-do-i-m-busy-washing-my-hairWashing it. The wig has survived its first wash. You just rinse it through in the sink with special “shampoo”, do the same with “conditioner”. Then you dry it off with a towel, stick it on the mannequin head and reshape it, comb it out and leave it to dry. It takes longer than you’d think to dry – overnight – so you really do have to think about the timing if it’s to be dry by the time you’ll need it again. As the wig is still the only “headwear” I dare wear outside, it looks like “I can’t come out, I’m washing my hair” really could be a valid excuse for not going out!
4 thoughts on “Learning to live with a wig

  1. I’ll think twice next time I think I’m having a bad hair day. Your blogs are so interesting I find myself look forward to the next posting – they’re becoming quite addictive 😃. Thanks for the updates x

    Like

  2. I’ll think twice next time I think I’m having a bad hair day. Your blogs are so interesting I find myself look forward to the next posting – they’re becoming quite addictive . Thanks for the updates x

    Like

  3. Hope you are fine Maureen. Such an interesting post. Really loved reading it. I miss your wit and humor in the office. Can’t wait to have you back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

