Post-op progress report No 2: A bit of a moan

This didn’t start out as a moan but that what it’s turned into.

Things have been going ok but yesterday, for whatever reason(s), I found it really hard to straighten up when I was up on my feet and walking about. The abdominal incision felt really tight all day. It doesn’t feel that different today.

Also, I’ve realised I’m holding my right shoulder lower than my left and my right arm at a funny angle, presumably because of the nerve pain (I’m assuming it’s nerve pain) in my upper right arm. The pain is normal, apparently, and happens because some nerves are cut during the operation to remove the lymph nodes and need to repair themselves. This can take a few weeks or indeed months.

Also, the reconstructed breast is pretty swollen. It has gone from looking perfect to looking anything but. Again, apparently swelling is normal and it can take 4-6 weeks for things to settle down. I saw the plastic surgeon on 29 December and she did try to drain off some of the fluid she could feel – in the breast and the tummy – but nothing came out.

There are other things that have nothing to do with the op that I may as well include here.

First and foremost, the peripheral neuropathy or nerve-ending damage in the ball and first three toes of my right foot that started during chemo (An “excellent response to treatment”) is back with a vengeance. It manifests itself as numbness and tingling and while it almost disappeared while I was in hospital – perhaps because I was on so many painkillers? – it’s been creeping back since I came home and the night before last it kept me awake for what seemed like half the night.

I’m also still losing eyelashes and my eyebrows, a good month after finishing chemo. That doesn’t seem fair, although I’ve read that they can grow back and fall out several times before they finally grow back and stay.

Finally, another toenail has fallen off.

On the upside, this is my first day without painkillers and nothing feels any more painful than it did yesterday when I was still taking them.

I was feeling ok until I wrote all that down. Now I think I’m going to stay sitting on the sofa, wrap myself in the seriously comfortable blanket a friend gave me for Christmas (THANKS!), and not move all day.

6 thoughts on “Post-op progress report No 2: A bit of a moan

  1. I hope you are having a better day flower, the bad days make the good ones shine more brightly. A day under the duvet or seriously comfortable blanket is something we all need from time to time.

    I had forgotten about the post op swelling and fluid build up. I recall despite not having reconstruction I thought I had grown a new boob a few weeks post op. A quick jab at out patients soon sorted me out.

    It’s great to hear you making such progress. Off the painkillers is one more tick box on the road back to full fitness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

