Why do we have to “battle” cancer?

Veteran BBC television and radio presenter Terry Wogan died earlier today after a “short but brave” battle with cancer. David Bowie died of the disease a few weeks ago after “a courageous battle”. Actor Alan Rickman followed Bowie; unusually, his family seemingly chose not to use any fighting analogy.

It seems if you’ve got cancer you’re almost always seen as battling or fighting it, more often than not bravely. We never hear of anyone dying of the disease after a lacklustre, take or it or leave it, weak-willed tussle.

Can’t we be allowed just to have cancer and get on with it? Especially if it’s terminal as it was with Wogan, Bowie and Rickman.

2 thoughts on “Why do we have to “battle” cancer?

  1. Good morning Maureen… This is a great post. Exactly how I feel also. I don’t like to fight nor do I want to. I’ll just keep my hope alive and deal with it all the best I can. Thanks for sharing your journey with us.
    Hope your Sunday is most beautiful…
    Michael

    Like

  2. I’m so glad you posted this. I have always despised the notion that people have to die fighting a good fight and the nasty flip side that people who choose to withdraw treatment before “the end” are somehow giving up and in.
    This blog is raising awareness, supporting fellow sufferers and giving you a creative outlet to try to fathom your way through this life experience. Well done and remember: you may have breast cancer Maureen, but at least you’ve got your health…(Glasgow humour!)
    Love Lorraine xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment